Shock US And UK Ban Hits SA Passengers

Shock US And UK Ban Hits SA Passengers

While direct US flights operated by SAA and Delta Air Lines are not been affected by the US Department of Homeland Security’s ban on carrying certain electronic devices in the cabin on flights to the US, many South African passengers travelling via certain hubs are nevertheless affected.

On 21 March 2017, the US Department of Homeland Security announced a ban on all electronic devices larger than a cellphone/smartphone onboard aircrafts in carry-on luggage or other accessible property on flights from certain airports to the US.

Six airlines operating indirect services to the US out of SA use hubs included in the ban: Emirates (Dubai), Turkish Airlines (Istanbul), Etihad (Abu Dhabi), Qatar (Doha), Egyptair (Cairo) and Saudia (Jeddah).

The UK then followed with its own ban on devices larger than 16cm x 9.3cm x 1.5cm on flights from Turkey, Egypt, Saudi Arabia, and other Middle East countries.

Source: Dave Marsh. Image: Pixabay